Skip to content

Latest Blogs

Pin to Trip

Walnut Creek Historical Museum

The Walnut Creek Historical Museum occupies the former masonic lodge building on Antique City Drive in downtown Walnut and was built in 1911. The second floor was the original temple and still includes the temple lighting system and altar.

The museum features three floors with over 50 displays and several collections, including military, farming, athletics, inventors, early families, and schools. Many of the items in the museum date back to the 1870s and 1880s, when Walnut was a thriving prairie town of 1,000 people.

To learn more about the museum and history of Walnut, visit their website! It includes in-depth information on the history of Walnut, includes a virtual photographic tour of the museum, and much more.

The museum is entirely run by volunteers from the Walnut Creek Historical Society and is open on weekends from Memorial Day to Labor Day or by appointment. Visitors may call (402) 960-5771 to schedule an appointment.

Let's stay in touch. Subscribe to our e-Newsletter
Let us show you around. Explore our visitor guide
509 23rd Ave.
Council Bluffs, IA 51501
844-271-6909 | 712-256-2577
©2024 Council Bluffs CVB | Accessibility | Legal | Privacy Policy